Pumpkin and Chocolate Chips Muffins

The publication of this recipe was delayed by my mum visiting us from France during half-term week. On the other hand, I made these muffins whilst she was staying with us and she loved them so much, she asked me to translate the recipe into French so she could take it back home with her.
If this got the Mum’s Seal of Approval, you know it’s a good one! J
I love pumpkin (some of you who have followed Sandra’s Holistic Kitchen for a while will remember my “pumpkin madness week” from a few years ago) and these muffins are based on a Pumpkin Bread recipe kindly given to me by Rachel, my Team Leader at work.
But the first pumpkin muffins to come out of my oven had the consistency of hockey pucks; they were tough, mean and tight! But they tasted nice and had just the right amount of spice (they did not go to waste by the way; they were perfect, crumbled over some Greek yogurt with a drizzle of honey.)
I knew I was onto something good, as long as I addressed the texture of the muffins. A few versions later, we have muffins that are aerated and moist thanks to Greek yogurt and vegetable oil; simply perfect… I am very biased of course; this has to be one of my favourite recipes!
This is the pumpkin puree I use and I find it in the World Food aisle in Tesco. I have been reliably informed that it is also available at Waitrose.
Oh by the way, the recipe was originally created without the chocolate chips until I had a bit of a light-bulb moment one day. So if you wish, you can omit the chocolate chips in this recipe but I ask you: why would you want to?!

Pumpkin and Chocolate Chips Muffins

 

Ingredients(makes 12:)

 

180g plain flour
1tsp baking flour
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/8tsp salt
1tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground nutmeg
½ tsp ground ginger
¼ tsp ground cloves
85g caster sugar
2 medium eggs
1tsp vanilla extract
195g pumpkin puree
90ml vegetable oil
60ml Greek yogurt
100g dark chocolate chips

 

Method:

 

1-      Preheat your oven to 180oC/160oC fan and line a 12-hole muffin tin with paper or silicone cases.
2-      Sift the flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger and cloves together in a medium-sized bowl and set aside.
3-      Using an electric whisk on high speed, whisk together the sugar, eggs and vanilla extract in a large mixing bowl, until the mixture is pale and has doubled in volume.
4-      Turn the electric whisk speed down and add the pumpkin puree, vegetable oil and Greek yogurt until well combined.
5-      Using a spatula, fold in the sifted dry ingredients until just combined (do not over-mix.)
6-      Still using the spatula, fold in the chocolate chips quickly without over-mixing the batter.
7-      Fill the muffin cases with the batter (just above three quarter full,) and bake for 15 minutes until risen and golden (a cake tester should come out dry.)
8-      Leave to cool in the tin for 10 minutes before taking the muffins out to cool completely on a wire rack.
 

 

Sandra’s note: I get you to switch from the electric whisk to a spatula for step 5 as it is important not to over-mix at this stage or you will activate the gluten in the flour and your muffins will become tough.
Leave a Reply

